Last Week’s Workout and:

 

Totally lost the teeny blue Post-it that had this one
(and yes, I write out all our CF workouts on blue Post-its.
Do not question the blue Post-it!!!):

Mel

x5
Run 100m
10 burpees
10 pushups
10 mountain climbers (each leg)
10 v-ups
10 squats

Finished with pull-ups (still struggling with the fourth pull-up, ARGH).

 

I’m in the middle of creating my costume for Faire this year–
it’s a lot more complicated than my original costume,
by far and away–
my original costume is suitable for peasant class,
or for lower merchant class.

The bodice is simple, front-lacing,
the chemise and partlet are not starched or overly frilled,
and I have two skirts in a five-gore pattern with a standard waistband.
I wear a pair of Birkenstock mules in a light suede with this outfit,
and they work swimmingly.

 

See? Tres simple. And yes, it looks like I don't have feet.

 

This year,
I’m working with a FAHbulous group of folks
who dress as wanna-be aristocratic Frenchies,
and go around mocking people in zer Frahnch Accsahnts.

Consequently,
my outfit needs a leetle more *oomph*,
and a leetle more fashionyfashion.

So I’m making things.

Like chopines.

 

I KNOW.

 

This wonderful lady has given me brilliant ideas
on constructing said chopines,
and I ordered two sets of yoga blocks today.

I’m actually stupid excited to start creating those,
and I think I’ll be able to make something ridiculous and awesome.

 

I also ordered a wig:

I love the Renaissance.

 

I’m a tad anxious about that wig,
since I couldn’t find out what type of fiber was used for it,
and wigs, generally, are not returnable items.

However,
I’m pretty damn good at making cheap shit look great,
so I’m trusting in my gerry-rigging skills if the wig is more *meh* than *OMG*.

 

I am *also* making a headpiece,
which will (hopefully) look something like hers:

 

My current plan is to draft the pattern on paper,
trace it onto balsa wood,
cut the pieces out, attach them together with…brads?
Grommets?
Spit?

Paint with something pearlescent-y?
Metallic?

Something pretty, at any rate,
then attach it to the wig with combs and pins.

 

So,
I have a little more than a month before Faire opens.

I can totally get all this done.

Right?

…Hello?…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shawna
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 15:28:08

    You should have watched teh christmas clearance racks and found a bunch of silver star explosion ornaments then glued them all to one big come piece to put into the wig…that’s what I’d have done…if I’d thought of it at Christmas. And I was awesome enough to go to a Renn Faire in costume.

    Reply

  2. cheekypinky
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 15:34:28

    Ooooo, Shawna.

    You are CLEVER.

    I’m going to hunt for those now. Merci!

    Reply

  3. Mary Jacobson Smith
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 16:15:29

    It’s getting lighter here, so crossfit in the park is going to be possible soon! Can’t wait.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

