Sunday Morning:

My dear friend Mary (the Ninja) called me yesterday:
“I have pink eye and can’t hold my child. Could you come over and take care of him?”

Of course I went.

I have about seven girlfriends in my life who will always answer my calls,
no matter the time of day or night.
Seven women who would fly across the world for me.

And you know what?

I would do the same for them.

Friends save lives with the little things–
chocolate when you’re crying,
holding you when you’re hurting or just feeling blue.
Friends encourage dreams, stuff the envelopes for your wedding invitations,
help you pack, hot-glue velcro for innumerable pouches–

It’s what we do.

Thank God, it’s what we do.

ps (friends also give awesome “thank you” gifts):

*squee*

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Jane
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 17:32:02

    Next time you need a hug, or some chocolate: if I get to fly halfway around the world to make that happen, you know I’m there 🙂 Can we make that someplace fun with lots of beer and possibly an ocean view?

    Reply

  2. cheekypinky
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 07:13:38

    ireland?
    israel?

    and absolutely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

