Hair. And Stuff.

I’m playing Puck in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” at Southern Faire this year.

Alas,
my short hair was deemed not okay
(in spite of the character that I am to play, and the wreath that I’ll be wearing)
by the Costume Oracle,
so I had to improvise.

I bought a Hank O’ Hair from Cinema Secrets
(which is one of my favorite places to find weird/halloween/stage makeup),
and I began braiding today.

Acrylic hair is far less expensive than human hair,
but lemmetellyawhat,
that shit gets TANGLED.

the tangle

the tanglestache

My evil plan is to weave braids across the top of my wreath,
so I can fake the long-hair-having-ness.

(no wigs because
a) scratchy
b) faire gets up into the 100 degrees come May
c) i’m already wearing freakishly hot Elizabethan garb)

So far,
the process goes something like this:

1) Separate hair

2) Rubberband one end, place between toes to hold whilst braiding

please ignore my purple feet. it's cold in here!

3) Attach rubberband to prongs of headband, loop braid creatively

this part can be tricky

4) Twist horns into wreath as best you can. Curse creatively when said horns go flying across the room under the power of their magic elasticity.

5) Place on head. Thou speakest aright! I am that…merry…wanderer of the night!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. behnnie
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 14:28:02

    GOOOOOOOOOORgeous. Loves it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

