Books! *glomp*

Walked to the library today
(first, feast on that: I walked to my library.)
(that’s so COOL!),
picked up a few things to make my still unpacked bookshelves feel less lonely:

Villete, Charlotte Bronte
The Handmaid’s Tale, Margret Atwood
Mere Anarchy, Woody Allen
Wifey, Judy Blume
Dream When You’re Feeling Blue, Elizabeth Berg
The Aleph & Other Stories, Jorge Luis Borges
Puro Cuento, Sandra Cisneros
Durable Goods, Elizabeth Berg
Summerland, Michael Chabon
Wonder Boys, ” ”
Gentlemen of the Road, ” ”

I’m most ‘specially excited for the Chabon novels–
I keep starting them in bookstores,
inevitably, fifteen minutes before closing.

*pssht*

As if your need to go home is greater than my need to finish a book,
Barnes & Noble employees.

I anticipate several afternoons at Beantown and Jameson Brown,
or even a wander down to the Sierra Madre cemetery,
to sit under an enormous cedar and read stories to ghosts.

They’ll appreciate the company, I’m sure.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. L
    May 26, 2010 @ 01:07:18

    Oh so jealous. I’m still chipping away at books I’ve had going for… well…longer than I care to admit 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    May 26, 2010 @ 15:49:22

    Loved Handmaid’s Tale. Let me know how Summerland is — bought it years ago for a $1, but still haven’t read it.
    Walking to a library is incredible. Just walking period is great.

    Reply

  3. Kevin Brook
    May 26, 2010 @ 23:21:24

    Speaking of “Gentlemen of the Road” and the Middle Ages, you may want to read my book “The Jews of Khazaria” for the historical context to Chabon’s novel. You can also visit Khazaria.com for some of that information.

    Reply

  4. Janna
    May 29, 2010 @ 07:16:28

    I enjoyed meeting you at Blog Sugar. I’ve been reading your last few posts and wanted to tell you what a fun blog you have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

