Kiss My (mostlytoxinfree) Face:

Relieved to know that switching to mostly organic makeup has been a good call on my part.

Thoroughly disturbed that the FDA doesn’t police ingredients in cosmetics–
if I’m going to put something on my face, every day,
I want to know that it’s not going to screw with future babies,
or cause my cells to go ape and get all cancerous on me.

I went to Skin Deep: Cosmetic Safety Reviews
and entered the product name in their search field–
it found almost everything I use regularly,
except, strangely enough, my MAC lipstick.

Here are the products I use daily and their score from Skin Deep:

(the higher the number, the greater the potential toxicity)

Dr. Bronner’s Organic Lip Balm: 1/10
Good thing, too–Boyo doesn’t call it my “crackstick” without reason.

Kiss My Face Peaches & Creme Moisturizer: 6/10
(this lotion alone has been almost entirely responsible for my
teenage acne abandoning ship, so at the moment, I’m willing to go with a higher number)

Crystal Body Deodorant Spray: 0/10
WOOT! And? No nasty deodorant stains on my pretty clothes, either.

Physician’s Formula Organic Wear Tinted Moisturizer: 4/10

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup: 4/10
(I only use one or the other between the tinted moisturizer and the foundation)

Physician’s Formula Powder Palette: 5/10
I will probably phase this out in favor of something from Bare Minerals.

Boots Organics Loose Powder: Not Shown
One of the ingredients, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, scores a 9
on their scale–but I don’t know how much this product *has* in it.

Regardless, I wear powder every day, and often re-powder if I’m going out at night–
I think the time has come for a friendlier version…

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara: 5/10

Maybelline ExpertWear Eye Shadow: 5/10

It’s a fascinating study,
and frankly,
it’s about damn time someone figured out what in the heck BHA’s and…um…iodopropynyl butylcarbamates are.

If you can pronounce and identify the ingredients in whatever you stick in and on your body, you’re probably doing okay…

Well, unless you’re getting all Elizabethan with good ol’ loose lead powder and them sweet belladonna eyedrops, that is.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Auntie Bev
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 19:50:36

    Good info, Becca! I’ll see how my makeup stacks up! *shudder*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

