Cap Sleeves and the Women Who Hate Them:

A rant, if you will.

I love dresses.

I love shopping for them,
trying on pretty colors,
lovely fabrics,
experimenting with shapes and styles.

What I don’t love,
however,
is the continual, constant, rage-inducing CAP SLEEVE.

First,
what’s the point?
The cap sleeve generally covers about .00001% of your entire arm,
so if modesty is your concern,
surely elbow sleeves are less risky.

Second,
cap sleeves look good on .00001% of the female population.

Because?

That stupid piece of fabric emphasizes the biggest part of one’s arms.
It’s like trying to camouflage an elephant behind a blade of grass.

FAIL.

I know there are women out there
whose arms are largest at the elbow.
I don’t understand where they come from,
or how they rolled the genetic dice for such–
but I am not among them.

I have BIG ARMS.
I have “my ancestors were farmers” arms.
They are strong,
but in spite of everything,
show no muscular definition.

Which is rad.

And it means that sleeves on dresses like this?

so cute! so IMPOSSIBLE.

And this?

WANT. CAN'T.

And this?

@#$%ing CAP SLEEVES!

CAN’T.
WEAR.

Can’t even get ’em past my (hulking) forearms,
most of the time.

And even if I can,
that stupid little slice of material smooshes my upper arms
into amazingly grotesque shapes.

EW.

Designers!!!!

Few women have eensy weensy toothpickering arms!

My shoulders do not need their own minuscule awnings,
and I’m tired of having to remove these insulting little buggers,
or having to put a cute dress back on the rack because of a 2″ piece of fabric.

Please to kill the cap sleeve.
It wearies me.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aims
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 13:28:32

    AMEN.

    Love the last one; can’t wear it! All hail 3/4 sleeves! Bring them back!!

    Reply

  2. Margaret
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 22:43:10

    A rant after my own heart… I give a resounding ‘amen’! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Mary Jacobson Smith
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 20:14:13

    Yes! As you well know, we have identical arms and therefore, an identical problem. I do love oh so very much the circulation to my arms being slowly, but prettily cut off my freakin’ capped sleaves.

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 15:23:00

    I *need* that green dress. But ditto on the cap sleeves. Owie.

    Reply

  5. Tina
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 19:59:30

    Cap Sleeves SUCK! Suck adorable clothing with cap sleeves…don’t they get that they’re LOSING $$$?

    Reply

  6. Jenny
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 15:38:39

    I love your post. I thought it was just me who detested those things that will not go away. I suppose they’re cute and flirty, but not on me. Thank you and those dresses are gorgeous, maybe a nice little 3/4 sweater…..oh no never mind.

    Reply

    • cheekypinky
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 16:10:44

      I wonder, sometimes, how hard it would be to get a tailor to alter the sleeves, if you could find correct or contrasting material…

      I just love so many of those dresses,
      but them damned sleeves…!!!

      Reply

  7. dar
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 10:25:17

    I agree! Hate capped sleeves – why can’t we have 1/2 sleeves????

    Reply

  8. blagh
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 11:14:11

    I bought a blouse against my better judgment that had the hated cap sleeves, make you look like a fullback, I hate them! The question is, how can I extend their appearance? There must be something I can do to them.

    Reply

    • cheekypinky
      Apr 05, 2013 @ 12:36:47

      Oh, I feel your pain.

      😦

      I’ve taken lace and trims and attached them to the shoulder seam (easier to hide the stitches there),
      which is a decent cheat,
      but still…WHYFOR THE CAP SLEEVE???

      Reply

  9. Debbie
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 09:42:54

    I found your page 3 years after the fact by googling “I hate cap sleeves.” How have these not died yet and why haven’t we started a fashion magazine devoted entirely to normal women who hate cap sleeves?

    Reply

    • cheekypinky
      Aug 10, 2013 @ 14:30:11

      Oh, girl, RIGHT?

      Reply

    • Charlotte
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 08:05:50

      Agree and I found the site the same way. We are still seeing cap sleeves all around. I wish they would just die! I look like a fullback primate in them. I wish someone would start a website for sewing amateurs on how to alter them without too much trouble,

      Reply

  10. Holly
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 09:01:32

    I love cap sleeves; they’re delicate, feminine and very much my style. I was just wondering why other people dislike then so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

