Vote! Vote! Like a Baby Stoat!

I can’t decide who I want to be for Halloween.

My first idea,
since we’re going with a literary theme this year,
was to be Emily Dickinson,
‘coz she’s all kinds of rad,
and then I remembered that Dickinson requires Victorian garb…
which is a trifle hard to throw together from the thriftstore.

(and believe it or not, i actually don’t have any Victoriana in my costume wardrobe…i must have some sort of illness.)

So,
my faithful readers,
I need your super valuable input of inputtiness.

Here are the options I’m pondering (pinky):

1) Ophelia

Pretty dress! Crazy lady!

2) The Lady of Shalott

(I have these three different ideas for her…all of them by Waterhouse,
na-tur-all-eee)

A)

The sleeves would be the hardest part, I think...

B)

Do you s'ppose that's a nautical-themed pashmina afghan?

C)

Different hair and slightly different gown from the Mothereffing Boat Shalott

3) Circe

Oh, surprise!
More JW Waterhouse! 😉

I love this painting--I wonder if I could attach a sea monster to my dress, make it follow me around all night?

(and no, i would *not* have my right boob exposed, thankyouverymuch)

4) La Belle Dame Sans Merci

O what can ail thee, knight at arms!

Giant poppy patterned dress! GLURG.

5) Pandora

Naturally, I would *have* to have a box to carry about.

6) Le Frou Frou

Okay, okay, she's not *technically* a literary character...but she's on the cover of a literary magazine! ...fine. i just like her dress...

7) Ozma

Simple, lovely, art nouveau.

More ideas for Ozma:

I would probably make a decorative outer girdle for this, 'coz I'm not fond of the mumu thing.

Everybody listens to a Queen in Red. I'm just sayin'.

What do you all think?
I have a favorite of my own,
but I could easily be persuaded by the democracy of y’all.

I will be using thriftstores and the fabric district to shop for all materials…
And apparently,
I need to get me a long wig.

Now…VOTE!

(this post fueled by Trader Joe’s Gorgonzola Crackers, sweetandfancymoses)

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rachael
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 21:17:08

    I DON’T KNOW!!! There all fabulous! Garrrrr…….hurm…..

    Reply

  2. Jodai
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 21:18:55

    It’s all about the wig, darling! Just wear the hair and go as Lady Godiva!

    Reply

  3. rachael
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 06:43:15

    you could have Puppy be the horse and just carry her around with you? 😀 It presents an adorable image, I must say.

    Reply

  4. Shawna
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 08:38:49

    the very last one, Ozma in the red dress!!

    Reply

  5. rachael
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 20:49:02

    query: do you know Wicked?

    Reply

  6. charlotte
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 10:11:45

    All such fun ideas!!! I have to admit that while I voted for La Belle (that dress is a-may-zing!!!) but Ozma is a close second. Whichever you pick, you most pictures!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

