So I Promised these Pictures in October:

And…um…here they are?

This was my crazy project of hot glue and leaves and the staying up all night:

Baba Yaga‘s Hut

I made a 2D model of Baba Yaga and placed it so you could see her silhouette through this window. Creepy.

Do you know how hard it is to find branches that bend the same way???

The roof lifts up so I can replace the battery-powered flickering lights inside.

See the Chicken Feet?

 

There’s a funny story behind those Chicken Feet.

First,
they’re real.

Cooked for six hours in the oven and coated in decoupage,
but very real.

I walked into an Asian Market and asked if they carried chicken feet.
(you know, like you do)
The gentlemen looked at me, and said, “Shikahn Fee? Wha ah Shikahn Fee?”

I kinda made motions with my hands to indicate scratching,
“Um. They’re. You know. Chicken? Feet?”
*scratch scratch*

“You draw for me.”

“OH! You mean Shikahn PAW!”

And apparently I did, because they sent me home with a dozen of them.

ps (for a sense of scale, Baba’s Hut is about two feet high by three feet wide.)

pps (In my head, it was only a couple of inches tall.)

ppps (I have no sense of proportion, people.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terry
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 00:14:29

    Wow….that is imPRESSIVE!! 😀 So much work and detail – down to real chicken paws! 😀 Niice job!

    Reply

  2. Miriam Sagan
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 12:19:44

    Might I re-blog a few of these? Covering Baba Yaga at Miriam’s Well (http://miriamswell.wordpress.com)

    Reply

  3. Miriam Sagan
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 07:51:25

    I’ll do it today–many thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

