What I’m Reading:

 

First.

Have you ever put on a nice outfit
and then realized, two hours later,
that it was going to be TORTURE to sit and work in all day?

If only HR was more reasonable about working in one’s underthings.

 

I recently discovered Longform.org through Slate,
which is a collection of long form non-fiction from a huge variety of
publications and writers.
Fascinating topics, great writing, and?

You still look like you’re working while reading.

I read “The Rapist Says He’s Sorry” yesterday–blown away by its power and the excellent argument that the author makes.
(TRIGGER WARNING: Graphic description of rape)

Am currently reading “How the World Failed Haiti”.
I’m curious to see whether or not I will agree with the author’s thesis.

 

One of the things I like most about sites like Longform is that I don’t have the money to subscribe to all of the publications represented here, and I hate watching televised news,
so long form reporting and essays are where I tend to get updated
on current events–
and it’s really nice to have all of that in one place.

So go forth!

Read, my kittens!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chariander
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 13:31:00

    So now I have to go read the rape story. It’s this weird compulsion I have – I have to see if other experiences match up with my history. Of course they don’t, but I always keep looking for the girl who will totally understand. …I’m hoping someday to grow out of this.

    Also, I love longform!!!

    Reply

  2. cheekypinky
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 13:40:00

    @charlotte: It’s completely understandable that you feel the need to do that. I do the same things with stories of repressive religious upbringing and eating disorders.

    I think it is, as you say, a hope that someone completely understands because they had the exact same experience.

    It just makes life seem more…handleable, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

