Exhaustion:

 

Which means that this is going to be disjointed.
Sorry.

 

I feel like I’ve been walking through peanut butter.
Like I could sleep for 48 hours and still need more rest.

Went to Denver for a business trip on Monday
(my first! I’m all growed up!),
had to be up by 3:30am, to LAX by 5am,
and ready to roll into a full day of work by 10.
Wore Full Business Drag (hose, heels, pencil skirt, fancy blouse, lipstick)–
which is awfully uncomfortable,
but looks damn good on me.

It was a good trip–
the best part being the Schwanky Hotel Room.

Sometimes, ya just need to sleep on a king size bed all by yourself,
starfish style.

Friend Mary (NinjaMom!) came to see me–
we went walking through the city,
spent hours talking (not enough time),
made me dearly miss our Girl Days just after she had Jake,
and I was unemployed,
when we walked and talked all over Sierra Madre.

I miss you, friend.

 

Yesterday,
I went to the flower market to pick out pretties for my old student and friend’s senior vocal recital.
I am so proud of her–
when I first knew her, at 15,
she introduced me to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”.
We talked about TS Eliot,
boys,
literature.

…We still talk about those things.

Lauren became the woman I knew she would be–
funny, kind, lovely, gracious, mature.

I can’t wait to see you conquer the world, ‘Lo.

 

Roses and berries

 

I’ll have to get a better shot of these roses–
they’re called “Cool Water”, and I love their delicate color.

 

"Mad Men" is *very* important to the arranging process.

 

My Nitty Gritty City

 

That sky?
It’s the one thing that makes getting up at the buttfuck of dawn worth it.
I saw the sunrise over Los Angeles yesterday,
and it was beautiful.

 

I miss watching the sunrise.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlotte
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 14:07:50

    I absolutely love the pictures in this post! Congrats on your first business trip but WOW I want that pic of the vintage-y looking flowers with the laptop in the background. PS. Love pencil skirts!

    Reply

  2. cheekypinky
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 15:39:09

    Thanks, Char!

    Count on you to be encouraging.

    I should have gotten a picture of me in Business Drag–
    since I so rarely wear it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

