Yesternight’s Workout:

 

Oh, GEEBUZZ.

This one *destroyed* me:

x3

10 Star jumps
10 Pistols L
12 Burpees
10 Pistols R
10 Spartan Pushups
20 Lunges
50m Army Crawl
15 Hanging Situps

 

We ended up taking out the army crawl after the first round
in favor of tricep dips–
the grass was slicing up our elbows, it was wet, and also?
Pneumonia.

So Tricep Dips it was!

The Spartans are manageable now
(which pleases me to no end)–
I also did a pullup, a chinup, and another pullup at the end of the workout.
My goal is to get five pullups or chinups in a row by February.
GRR. ARGH.

 

I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not,
but my mantra through the last round was,
“I am not my Mother. I am NOT my mother.”

My mother,
understand,
is a very sweet, Titus-Two-Tea kind of a woman.

Who believes that godly behavior for women looks soft.
Delicate.
Fragile.
She associates submission with giving in.

I do not.

She has never been interested in being strong.

I am.

Sometimes to my detriment, I know.

But I want to be strong, capable.
I want to know that I could, in fact,
carry my husband or children or friends out of danger if I needed to.
I want that steely ability to carry on,
no matter how difficult the task at hand.

Disciplining my body to deal with pain is part of that.

 

I am not my mother.

Leave a Reply

