Yes. This. Yes.

 

What I Meant to Do

 

To my girl friends,
who have held me and loved me at my most unlovable,
some of whom are mothers themselves,
the kind of mothers I pray to God I might become someday;
to my girl friends who aren’t mothers,
but are sisters of my heart,
who keep me close
while my own sister is so far away.

To my education professors, to my pastor’s wife,
to the women in my church who take my breath away
with their faith and kindness;
to The Bloggess, to my dance teacher;
to all of the women who taught me that grace is better than anger
(even if I’m still Bad at That),
that it is Okay to be smart and funny and…

that God doesn’t just love women who are all doilies-and-teacups;
that it is Okay that I am not my mother’s Perfect Daughter.

 

Thank you.

I love you.

Happy Mother and Sisters’ Day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Jane
    May 15, 2012 @ 11:17:16

    Homaged you on my bloggity. I love you so much lady friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

