Poor Wee Mousie:

 

Maybe yesterday was a premonition.

I was laid off from my job this morning.

It was (as these things usually are) very sudden–
and in small graces,
my manager and the head of my office had nothing to do with the decision–
it was kind of a fell swoop coming down from the board of the company,
and they axed 19 other people along with me.

 

I am…everything everyone feels in this situation.

Angry, hurt, upset, depressed, worried, terrified.

Ben’s been amazing, of course.
I don’t know if we’ll have to put off the wedding.
We’re hoping we don’t.

I just can’t believe that I’m having to do this again,
barely a year later.
This is so, so fucking shitty.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlotte
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 19:53:00

    Whaaaaatttt?! NO. This is awful. I am so so sorry honey, esp with everything you had to go through before this job. Prayers and hugs for you my friend.

    Reply

  2. behnnie
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 18:29:55

    Apply for unemployment and do NOT put off the wedding. That’s just silly. There is nothing you can’t scale down that people will think anything of at all, or that they wouldn’t be understanding about knowing that the bride spent time out of work leading up to the event.

    The event is grand, but the event is not The Thing. The Marriage is The Thing. The Boyo is The Thing.

    Also: I volunteer to pick up popsicles as wedding cake stand-ins if need be. Because for real: Who doesn’t love popsicles??

    I love you hon.

    Reply

    • cheekypinky
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 18:39:34

      That was the first thing I did after finding out.

      We’ve decided to carry on with the festivities–we’re working everything out.

      And I think popsicles are hella better than cake, anyhoodle. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

