Allow Me to Clarify:

 

(A preamble to my preamble:
I’ve had a lot of fitness blog visitors (hey, there!) recently,
and I noticed that several of them tend to slide into the guilt/shame/smug trifecta
that is unfortunately common in our current culture.
This is a clarification of why I do what I do.)

 

I do not work out because I want a perfect body.
Ain’t no such thing.
I do not work out because I feel guilty about eating a piece of candy.
I do not berate myself for eating bread.
Bread is delicious, motherfucker.

Or it is a delicious motherfucker.

Take your pick.
 

I do not and will not restrict my eating for anything other than an allergy.
I will not call foods “bad” or call my behavior “bad” if I choose to eat a piece of pie.
It is a choice, and that is all.

I do not make “guilt-free” foods.

I do not go on juice fasts to “detox” my body–what the holy hell is that,
I can’t even.

Demonizing entire food groups is foolish and unbalanced,
and if you’re wondering why so many women have eating disorders,
in large part, it’s because we are shamed about *everything* we put in our mouths.
(Even salad! “Oh. Salad. You know, that type of lettuce has like, no macronutrients.”)

I will not take part in this.

I do not and will not weigh-in.
(Seriously. You don’t want to get me started.)

I do not work out because I need to fit into my wedding dress.
My wedding dress will fit *me*, not the other way around.

I do not work out because I’m a bad person if I don’t.

I do not work out because my body fat percentage isn’t where it “should” be.

I do not run on a daily basis because I hate running.
It makes me miserable.
My cardiovascular fitness will benefit just as much from sprints and walking.

I do not work out because it’s the thing to do.

 

I work out because it makes me strong.
I work out because it lifts my mood.
I work out because I get to spend time with my chosen family.
I work out because I’m doing the Zombie 5K in a couple of weeks.
I work out because growing stronger keeps my eating disorder at bay.
I work out because I have a desk job, and purely sedentary living hurts my body.
I work out because I can change water jugs at the office.
I work out because functional fitness is awesome.
I work out because it is satisfying to pound out a set of burpees.
I work out because I refuse to give in to fragility.
I work out because it makes me better at my crazy circus classes.

I work out because I enjoy it.

 

Guilt only creates resentment.
Delight will last for a lifetime.
We need to delight in our bodies and their abilities.
No more shaming.
Not yourself.
Not someone else.
Our bodies are incredible.
Now go celebrate that shit, however you like best.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. terryhergesheimer
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 21:20:03

    I completely concur with you, my dear. Excellent thoughts. I have always been annoyed by the Wedding Dress Diet syndrome. For crying out loud, isn’t that why they have fittings? So the *dress* fits? Anyway. You are lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Charlotte
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:12:37

    Amazingamazingamazing. I love every word of this! Love “my wedding dress will fit me, not the other way around”. Love “I workout because I refuse to give in to fragility.” Mostly I just love you:) Fantastic sentiment, eloquently expressed.

    Reply

  3. Carmel
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:25:33

    thank you. THANK YOU. absolutely sharing this on my blog as women NEED this reminder.

    http://www.thelifeandvibesof.com

    -Carmel

    Reply

  4. Carmel
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:27:20

    Reblogged this on The Life and Vibes of… and commented:
    I came across this post and wanted to leap into the air with a huge smile on my face after reading it. I am totally with her and this is exactly what I needed to read to get out of my funk this morning. HUGE PROPS.

    Reply

  5. Gail
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:33:58

    Fan-freaking-tastic. The term “guilt-free” makes me stabby. Same thing with “detoxing” — it’s called pooping, people.

    Reply

  6. Kacie Phillips
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:36:59

    Okay! So, here’s the deal. You are my new hero. This is amazing. You are amazing. Thank you for the honest truth and sincerity of the reality of life. We (myself included x2023490234) get so wrapped up in “health” that we don’t enjoy ANYTHING. We stress over everything–every workout, missed workout, every meal, bad choice. If we just lived and allowed these choices to happen, chances are we would make them less because we weren’t focusing on them and stressing over them. Thanks again! You rock!

    Reply

  7. Chris C. Turner (@XopherFL)
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:43:11

    This was just pure awesome.

    Reply

  8. Lisa Eirene (@LisaEirene)
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 12:48:51

    GREAT post! I see a lot of disordered thinking and people severely restricting calories/food/overexercising. It’s really sad. Fitness should be FUN. It should be done because you like it and it makes you feel good afterward.

    I lost 110 pounds by counting calories and swimming and have kept it off for 4 years now. I could stand to lose another 10 pounds or so, but I don’t care. I’d rather eat the things I enjoy in moderation (pizza, beer, wine, chocolate) rather than completely restrict them from my life to lose those 10 pounds!

    Reply

  9. Megan @ Fiterature
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 14:05:28

    Love this.
    BTW, I’m the only one in the office that changes the water jugs, and I LIKE it that way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  10. Bekky
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 14:52:04

    This is really awesome, and inspiring, and makes me feel really good inside… but… I’d really love to know what you mean by “pound out a set of burpees”… because it’s probably not what I’m picturing in my head…

    Reply

  11. Elle
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 15:31:23

    I hate burppes but I love this post!

    Reply

  12. Happy Fit Mama (@happyfitmama)
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 16:28:52

    VERY well said…

    Reply

  13. whitechessqueen
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 18:38:44

    Reblogged this on Checkmate, Life and commented:
    Anyone who have ever felt down about their weight for any reason needs to read this beautiful work by Cheekypinky. It is words to live by.

    Reply

  14. Caitlin
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 07:04:21

    This is so amazing! Found your blog via a share on Morgan’s FB fan page (Life After Bagels). This post SPEAKS to me! I am on a mission to stop working out for these awful reasons you listed and work out for the reason that I love it and that it makes me FEEL good and strong. Thank you!

    Reply

  15. Nicole
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:03:33

    I cannot love this enough!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

