Bibliophile:

 

“The world is changing, but I am not changing with it. There is no e-reader or Kindle in my future. My philosophy is simple: Certain things are perfect the way they are. The sky, the Pacific Ocean, procreation and the Goldberg Variations all fit this bill, and so do books. Books are sublimely visceral, emotionally evocative objects that constitute a perfect delivery system.”

~Joe Queenan

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlotte
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 13:53:15

    This post made me smile in at least 7 different ways – kind of amazing since it’s only 5 lines long! Brilliant. Someday I will learn to say more by writing less! But clearly that day is not today. ANYHOW. I thought I was the last holdout on e-readers!! I do not like them. First is the whole visceral thing but also, I’m cheap and so far no e program has trumped my local library for sheer awesomeness. I’m willing to wait a week or two to get a book on hold. Also, tot agree with you about the Pacific ocean, the Goldberg variations and the sky but procreation… I love it, it’s fun but it won’t be perfect until my uterus comes with an on/off switch. Just saying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

